Guest Blog: Rebecca Seymour winner of the Arts & Health South West Individual Award 2013

Rebecca Seymour (right) with Jane Willis (left) joint winners of the Arts & Health South West Individual Award 2013

Rebecca Seymour (right) with Jane Willis (left) joint winners of the Arts & Health South West Individual Award 2013

As a freelance Dance artist my work is extremely varied and no one week is the same.  Gradually over the past 5 years I have been gravitating towards working with “older people”, which I find refreshing and highly stimulating.  I have been co-ordinating the antics of the Mind the Gap group at Salisbury Playhouse for the past 2 years and have come to know the group as friends and very special people.  My work on the Young at Heart programme at Salisbury District Hospital has been some of the most rewarding work I have ever done and the vast range of patients and staff I encounter gives me endless stories to tell of life histories, music tastes, amazing dance and movement skills – yes even from hospital beds!

Recently I was nominated by some of my managers for the Arts & Health South West Individual Award 2013 and I’m happy to say I was awarded joint winner with Jane Willis.  I’m proud to have been given this award, but also want to recognise that many of my colleagues could have been awarded it alongside me, as in the South West we are blessed with some of the best Dance and Health artists in this country.  Networking with those dance artists has helped me reach this point and I’m taking this opportunity to celebrate our expertise!   

Rebecca Seymour, Freelance Dance Artist

One thought on “Guest Blog: Rebecca Seymour winner of the Arts & Health South West Individual Award 2013

Leave a Reply

